My first book, The Orchid Keeper, was published July 1st 2014. My publisher is ABuzz Press and part of my contract is that I do my own marketing and promotion.

Well believe me when I say that as a new author my head did spend a few times in the beginning, and still does sometimes this many months later when it comes to promotion and marketing.

Being a complete novice when it comes to marketing I say that hands down two things were my saving grace. Without these two things I don’t think I would feel as good about where I’m at in the literary world as a new author as I do right now.

1.) All Abuzz Press authors are given a free copy of Angela and Richard Hoy’s ’90 Days of Promotion’. I advise that any new author read this. It is a wonderful way to get your ducks in a row in the beginning. As a guideline through the first 90 days of promoting your book I would rate it at ten!!

The advice, format, timeline, resources, etc given put forth in this wonderful marketing and promotion tool/guide truly helped me through a lot of what would have otherwise grayed my hair and had me running in the other direction. No joke!!! I seriously had no idea where to begin or what to do!!!

90 days of promotion is also offered for purchase even if you do not publish through ABuzz Press just visit

http://www.writers weekly.com/

Many of you may remember a previous post of mine about ‘Writers Weekly’ e-zine. Also a great author resource.

2.) Last week I joined the ‘Ask David’ community at, .

Book promotion is, in my opinion, this sites forte. The tools, links, exposure, and contact with readers and authors that are now available to me are phenomenal!

In the few days that I have had my book on thus particular site I have seen definitive improvement in my exposure. I am being exposed to 1,000’s of people. Both my personal blog and my authors blog have picked up followers via links on my books askdavid.com page. My debut book has made some sales as a direct result of Ask David.com. Via my books page on this site people can link straight into all if my websites and pages.

I am extremely satisfied with my choice to become a author member on this site. I would suggest it to any author asking my opinion!

Check it out you won’t regret it…

http://askdavid.com

In closing, I give thanks for having the opportunity to utilize both if the above mentioned marketing and promotion resources. I also wish to vehemently recommend them to all authors who are responsible for thier own marketing. They have certainly helped me in so many different ways.

One thought on “Marketing and Promotion Newbie.

Leave a Reply

